I Got the Mooch.


I hate to say this about my friends, because I love my friends, but: I cannot get you a job.

Despite the fact that I have a job, and that said job has a pretty nice title (not that the description matches the benefits here, people) I have still only been working here about 9 months. I don't have dental coverage yet, folks. I don't think 9 months quite gives me the "as a favor to ME, Bob, could you give Adele the job as contract administrator? I know she's underqualified..." pull you're looking for.

I mean, if you were looking for a job in nothern Michigan in the food service industry I could hook you UP! I'm not kidding. I've got 9 YEARS under the belt, there. I have the "as a favor to ME Dean, could you give Lenny the job as head busser? I know he's overqualified..." pull DOWN.

But you want me to call in favors to people I know only because people *I* know called in favors for THEM. I know that in this business it's completely who you know and not what you know.

But dudes, I don't know anybody yet. The people I do know probably tolerate me at best, and I wouldn't be surprised to find that someone I know (a parent maybe?) was paying them under the table for my employment.

I know you need a job. I know you're a good worker. I know that as a friend, I should hook you up--you may return the favor some day. I also know that lots of people need jobs, lots of people are good workers, and you know lots of people with more pull than I.

Please call them.

2002-09-09 9:50 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host