Life Doesn't Suck


It's been said before, but I never really believed it until now.

Life doesn't suck.

It's unfortunate, however, that it often takes tragedy for one to realize how blessed they are.

After weeks and weeks of trying to keep my chin up, even after having repeatedly been punched in it, a blow came yesterday that made me stumble backward. In doing so, I was finally able to see a bigger picture, a wider frame. After weeks of feeling sorry for myself and wondering when the suck would ever end, I was able to step back--even if it was a stumbling, humbling step--and see that while I may have been having it rough of late, I'm still more blessed and lucky than I have any right to be.

I have my family. They're all alive and relatively healthy, and they love me. We're just as screwed up as anyone else, but we always get by. I have friends that are strong and always there for me. They all have flaws, but I like them that way. I have my health, I have my brain, and I have my heart. I have the will and the power to share them all with anyone I deem worthy, and fate has handed me nothing but deserving canidates.

I guess the times when you question faith is when faith makes the most sense. It doesn't matter what you have your faith in. God, your family, yourself... Life doesn't suck, and I'm going with that.

Credero quod consolarit.

"Life loves to be taken by the lapel and told, 'I am with you kid Let's go!'"--Maya Angelou

2002-10-16 12:30 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host