Silly Rabbit! Tricks are for Hookers.


So I walk into my apartment on Monday night, and my roommate meets me at the door.

Anyway, we chat for a minute or two, and I take a look at my mail and then he gets quiet for a second and hands me a letter that's already opened.

"Read this," he says.

"What is it?" I reply.

"Just read it," he says, and he's got this weird little look on his face.

So I open the letter which seems to be from our landlord, on letterhead and everything.

The letter begins by explaining that there have been some instances of smoking on the premesis, and some people have been getting pets and that none of this is tolerated.

So after the first paragraph I'm all "Well, whatever, this isn't us." And he tells me to keep reading.

So I do. And THEN--It goes on and says that because of these broken rules, he was now installing CLOSED-CIRCUIT TELEVISION in each apartment (but not the bathroom, after careful consideration). And that's when I flipped. I don't even think I finished reading the rest of the letter, I was so worked up. With the "are you fucking KIDDING me?"'s and the "dude, that's illegal--I know, I've seen 'The Practice'"'s and other various freak-outs.

It turns out that a bunch of our neighbors got together and someone noticed that there was a notice above the mailboxes from our landlord saying that the whole thing was completely un-legit and preposterous and that if we ever recieved something like this from "him" again that we should contact the real him immediately.

The whole thing IS kind of funny. Our landlord is a bit anal-retentive and even warned us when we first moved in that we shouldn't turn the knobs on any of the faucets too hard. That kind of thing. And honestly the first thing I thought when I read the letter was, "wait, this isn't April 1st."

It makes me wonder who in our building did it.

When Don finds out, they're going to get totally evicted. Yay! for the drama that keeps our life interesting.

Just remind me not to smoke or get a cat or anything.

"Let's all walk around naked. We'll see how long this closed circuit TV thing lasts.--Me



2002-11-22 12:43 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host