Putting the "Colon" in Colonize


I was just visiting my favorite website today, Television Without Pity, where I go to read recaps of my favorite shows that I either may have missed, or hated so much I must see how much the recapper trashes on it. I also visit the site because of the forums which house some of the most intelligent posters (those are the people that "post" on the forum) this side of the Official Site (that's pretty much any official site). When The X-Files was around, I was a regular over in The X-Files forums, and I still go there frequently, more out of habit I think, than any interest in the now-dead show.

Okay, that's not true.

I think that I post there because I'm just SO. BITTER.

The X-Files was such a great show. I'm sorry to say that I didn't get into it until well into it's run (I got caught up quickly, thanks to the genius of syndication), but was still almost immediately hooked by the characters, the acting, the innovative plots, the production value and the fact that the show was just so different from anything else out there. Man, it was quality.

And then the exec producer, Chris Carter (whom I've made no attempt to hide my distaste of him from (if you'll forgive the awkward phrasing)) and his production team wrote themselves into a corner (somewhere around seasons 5 and 6). And instead of slowly backing out, or using some of the less clever writing tricks of "It was all a DREAM!" or "I was drugged!", they managed to further write themselves into places not only further in the corner, but also through the wall, through the insulation and out the other side. And after that, they decided to continue the show on for a further two seasons.

And how painful those seasons were...

Now, my friends over in the forums at TWoP are trying to piece together the mytharc of the show, convinced that some sense can be made out of it. Sure that the production team had some kind of vision (though they didn't have a show bible).

I am one of several posters there that is quite confident that no explanations exist that can be used to tie together the frayed pieces of story that the show's writing team hacked to bits several years ago. I'm positive that the writers outwardly told everyone that they had a plan, but inwardly were freaking out because they were pulling storylines out of their ass, and not even lining them up.

So when the series finale came around and even the title (not to mention the promos, articles, interviews, etc.) promised to deliver The Truth, what did we get? A date. A DATE. And not even the good kind where you get dinner and a movie. Nine years of faithful viewing and 202 (first-run) hours of their life, and what did the show's fans get? A DAY. Ten years in the future. When aliens are supposed to colonize the planet.

I was FURIOUS. That was this Truth we've all been after? A fucking DATE?! I was even more upset that the writers would have the gall to try to distract the viewers with a sudden relationship between Mulder and Scully. That's a fucking low blow, dude. Now, I've wanted the characters to get together from the first time I saw the show. But to throw them together in a vain attempt to get a bigger audience and to cover for the fact that the writing team couldn't think of a way to write a decent wrap-up to their overly-convoluted story? I considered that a complete slap in the face.

Not just that, but the lighting sucked. You could hardly see anything.

Whatever.

Please forgive the stream of consciousness entry. I haven't been able to think of anything clever to enter here, and this has been bugging me since May 19th.

"Don't even ask me."--Gillian Anderson, when asked if she could describe what was happening on The X-Files late in the show's run.

2002-12-03 12:01 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host