The Left Side of My Face


There is something very wrong with the left side of my face.

It started about 4 days ago with the outside of my left ear (yes, the OUTSIDE) hurting. I thought at first that I was getting another ear infection (I had to go to the UCLA emergency room a couple of months ago and won an award for the first adult-onset ear infection the attending doctor had ever seen) but the pain hasn't reached the inside of my ear in as many days. This bodes well, as I had been afraid that an inner ear infection would keep me sidelined from getting on a plane and flying home for a two week vacation.

The pain, however, is not going away. In fact, it has since migrated to my jaw. I have pain and stiffness mostly on the left side of my face, but also a little on the right. I went to a movie last night and had problems eating popcorn. And let's not even talk about Milk Duds.

I'm totally paranoid that there is something wrong with me and that I have like, Tetnus or something, but I'm also holding off on going to the doctor here. For one thing, I don't really have a doctor here. (I hate, hate, HATE HMOs.) For another, what if I have Lock Jaw! What if my ear is never the same again! It hurts just to touch it. Will I have chronic ear pain for the rest of my life? What if I need surgery or have some kind of weird ear/jaw cancer?

What I'm hoping is that I'm just really stressed and clenching my teeth at night to the point where my jaw has reached the breaking point. Then again, my dental insurance won't cover me for a bite plate which could potetially cost me 500 smackers. (Did I mention how much I hate, hate, HATE the health insurance situation in this country?)

What if I'm turning into Harvey Two-Face from Batman? Oh dear.

What, pray tell, is wrong with the left side of my face???

"No wonder Van Gogh cut off his ear."--Richard (Caroline in the City)

2002-12-18 10:29 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host