Originality is the Art of Concealing Your Sources


Why are the words we write for ourselves so much better than the words we write for others?

I haven't had an entry in here for a while, so I decided to sit here, turn on the TV, and the first phrase I heard, I would write about. Kind of weird that it happened to be the sentence above.

I keep a leather-bound book in which I write my own personal rules for living. Most I write myself, others are written for me. I find that keeping a list of phrases that are good ideas handy helps to clarify the path ahead when it clouds and I can't tell where I'm going. They're usually simple, but I think the simple ideas are easiest to follow.

Here are some of my favorites:

--Never be ashamed to ask stupid questions.

--Don't confuse conciet with confidence.

--Goliath was bigger than David.

--My resume will not be my eulogy.

--There are two kinds of naked.

--Never second guess your intuition.

--Speak up, no one else can hear the voices in your head. However many there happen to be...

--Don't worry about what other people think of you-their skirt is probably tucked into their underwear, and chances are they have toilet paper attached to their shoe.

--The train moves, not the station.

--Everyone looks bad in a bathing suit when they're 80. Some people put them on anyway.

--Endeavor to live a life where you're excited to go to bed at night. Not to celebrate the end of a day, but because you can't wait for the start of another.

"Know when to hold 'em. Know when to fold 'em. Know when to walk away, and know when to run."--Kenny Rogers

2003-02-03 2:22 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host