I Can't Wait To Get Blown Up!


So I was talking with a friend this weekend and for one reason or another, our discussion turned from the benefits of pink taffeta dresses to the current state of our world.

We're very deep like that.

It went something like this:

Me: You know, I'm surprised I don't actually own Pretty In Pink.

Her: Let's not discuss this anymore.

Me: Fair enough. But I want you to know it was the highlight of my weekend.

Her: Molly Ringwald should be killed.

Me: Lots of people should be killed. Why Molly Ringwald?

Her: Killing Molly Ringwald would restore peace, end world hunger, and help the Lions win the Super Bowl.

Me: I didn't realize you were such a big Lions fan. Or a pacifist, come to think of it.

Her: You have no idea. I even went to a peace rally this weekend.

Me: You did? You never even did that in college.

Her: It was too cold out to protest anything in college. Well, except that riot sophomore year.

Me: Yeah, losing to Duke in the Final Four is truly a cause worthy of hypothermia.

Her: And tear gas!

Me: And tear gas.

Her: I haven't seen so many people rally against anything in my life. Well, except losing to Duke.

Me: I'm proud of you, I've been wanting to get out and protest the war, but by the time I hear about the protests they're already over.

Her: Me too. But this time I was on my way home from work and I saw this guy in a Saddam Hussein mask so I flipped a bitch and followed him.

Me: You followed a guy wearing a Saddam Hussein mask?

Her: I was curious.

Me: Okay. Go on.

Her: Anyway, two blocks later he walked into crowds protesting in front of the Capitol building. There was a parking spot right there so I joined in.

Me: And it wasn't too cold to protest? I mean, right there in front of the Capitol building?

Her: I had a hat.

Me: Hats make all the difference.

Her: They do. A lot of people don't realize that.

Me: It's true. I think I had a discussion with a guy out here for 20 minutes about how much heat you lose off your head. These pansies don't know the true meaning of cold.

Her: They will once the nuke hits.

Me: Does nuclear winter actually make it cold?

Her: I don't know, sounds like it though. You know, nuclear winter.

Me: Well, I think calling it 'nuclear summer' would make it sound kind of pleasant.

Her: Especially around here. You know, with summer being three months of bad sledding. You'd be surprised how many pro-war people were out there, too.

Me: Really? There were a lot of them?

Her: That's just it. There weren't any. Not one. I can't think of a single person I know that wants to go to war.

Me: I don't even like the word war.

Her. Me neither. It just sounds so simple and final. War.

Me: What is it good for?

Her: Absolutely nothing.

Me: Huh.

Her: Sing it again!

I love our country, everyone. And I fully support our troops. But there has to be another solution. I guess you could call me a patriot for peace.

"Naturally the common people don't want war: Neither in Russia, nor in England, nor for that matter in Germany. That is understood. But, after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine the policy and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the peacemakers for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country." -- Hermann Goering at the Nuremberg trials, 1946.



2003-03-12 10:43 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host