Get Out!


Okay, the most bizzare thing happened to me. Bizzare and funny. I'm sitting here and I still can't quite believe it.

My life is weird. Weird things happen to me. One of these days, I'll even have an entry about the road trip Dr. No and I took. That was crazy. In any event, a few times a year (or month) I'm just sitting there and these strange things happen where I just look around for the hidden camera saying to myself Shut UP. Is this really happening? I am the only person this sort of thing happens to. Pinch me.

It happened again on Sunday.

We invited a couple of friends over that didn't have family in town for a relatively impromptu Easter brunch. I was planning on making these pumpkin waffles (which turned out fabulously, thank you) and had the recipe on my computer. I booted up in order to get it before I started cooking, and decided to check my email. Dr. No was vegging on the couch behind me and I was more engaged in coversation with him than I was in what I was going on on the screen in front of me. Until I noticed an email that I got from the TWoP Personals. Now, TWoP had been having it rough financially of late, and as a money-making campaign, they joined the online personals that the Onion and other websites have. In my militant Save TWoP! phase, I signed up and entered my info. Now, that was months ago, and I hadn't really ever searched the personals there, and got probably two messages total in all of that time. And if memory serves, I never responded to either one. But come on, the very idea that someone wants to date you is a powerful thing.

Me: Hey! Someone sent me something from the TWoP Personals!

Dr. No: Oooooo!

Me: Bite me. You're just jealous.

Dr. No: Well open his picture, I wanna see!

So I followed the link and opened the guy's profile. Now, for the next few days here, I'm going to keep the man's identity to myself just in case something should happen with this entire thing. I'm a total blabbermouth about my life, but when it comes to other people's secrets and lives where it's not my place to say, mum's the word.

Where was I? Oh yes, I opened his profile with the picture on top.

My very first reaction was "Wow. He looks just like the kid from [insert one of your favorite 80's sitcom's here]." Dr. No popped over and looked at the pic. "Whoa, you're right, he does. He also needs a haircut. And are those denim coveralls?"

We looked for a moment, and then I started to scroll down his profile, checking out his stats. And then I yelled at Dr. No because I hate, hate, hate when people read over my shoulder. It's a thing.

As I'm reading, it slowly dawns on me.

Me: Oh my God.

Dr. No: What?

Me: Dude!

Dr. No: What?!?

Me: It is the kid from [80's sitcom]! It's [insert character's name]!!!!

Dr. No: What?

We did a little investigating over at the IMDb and came to the same conclusion.

A former child actor and 80's teen icon wants to date me.

Not about to pass up a chance like this, I totally emailed him back. I'll keep you posted.

"Oh my God, you have to date him." -- Every single person I told.



2003-04-22 1:13 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host