Slip's Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Year


This is it. This is the last day of being 23. And boy, did the year of 23 suck. Among many other things, I lost my Grandma (and my Grandpa, a month or two before 23 hit), my dog, suffered a few other family tragedies, and also lost my job. Yes. The year of being 23 could have been a little better.

Granted, some cool things happened to me, too. I got to try to eat lunch across the table from my celebrity boyfriend, made some really great friends, and got to spend a wonderful two weeks over Christmas at homewith my family, who's just as much fun as I am.

But in the grand scheme of things, yes, it could have been a bit better.

In the next 365 days, I'm making it a goal to get a job and a steady income. To write at least one feature-length and one TV spec script. To get in better shape, get a better wardrobe, and possibly a boyfriend.

I'm going to write more letters and less email. I'm going to spend more time outside and less online. I'm going to drink more water and less pear cider. I'm going to take less flak and more vitamins. I'm going to go camping up in Yosemite and driving around wine country. I'm going to be in one wedding (so far) going to attend another, and I'm going to find a cheap plane ticket for both. I'm going to clean my plate less and let my roommate clean the apartment more. I'm going to stop bitching about how crappy my life is and do something about it.

But not until Saturday. Today is for wallowing in self-pity and tomorrow is for partying.

"Scully: [holding an Apollo 11 keychain] I actually was thinking about, uh, this gift that you gave me for my birthday. You never got to tell me why you gave it to me or what it means, but I think I know. I think that you appreciate that there are extraordinary men and women and extraordinary moments when history leaps forward on the backs of these individuals, that what can be imagined can be achieved, that you must dare to dream, but that there's no substitute for perseverance and hard work and teamwork because no one gets there alone; and that, while we commemorate the... the greatness of these events and the individuals who achieve them, we cannot forget the sacrifice of those who make these achievements and leaps possible.

Mulder: Actually, I just thought it was a pretty cool keychain." -- Max

2003-04-24 12:54 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host