The Truffle Shuffle


No one out there believes me when I tell them that I was a fat baby. And when I say fat, I mean fat. My pediatrician put me on a diet when I was two. I had fat rolls on my arms.

Of course, then I grew into this skinny, skinny preteen with knobby knees and gangly arms.

As a teenager, I was ripped. Had a six pack, my arms were cut, and my calfs looked great.

Nowadays, I'm settling into my more voluptious mid-twenties figure, and am learning to embrace it.

Women nowadays, spend way too much time worrying about what phsyical attributes they don't have and not enough time enjoying which ones they do. It's a hard thing not to buy into. Society these days does everything it possibly can to drill it into you: you must have the perfect body.

Now, I can't say as mine isn't pretty great. I don't think there is anyone out there who can honestly say that there isn't something they'd change if they could, but for the most part, I'm happy. Well, more honestly, I'm settling into my happiness.

I wish more women would. Even those who don't look the ideal. I mean, what's the fun of perfection? How exceedingly boring.

It's sad. Three of the five women I would ask to stand in my wedding suffered from an eating disorder. Three out of five! That's horrible! Stop ladies! Embrace your bodies! Even if it's awkward and you're not that flexible.

Of course, I say this now, but tomorrow, just like the rest of you, I'll probably be back on the treadmill.

"There's more of your blood sitting in test tubes around the world then is currently circulating in your veins. I mean, you've tried every fat drug, every fat diet that's ever existed. I mean, more money is being poured into your quest for Twigginess than goes in aid of most third world nations and somehow, mum, somehow, you're still two stone overweight!" -- Saffron Monsoon, AbFab

2003-05-20 12:55 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host