101 in 1001


You all knew this was coming eventually.

Most of you know the premise: Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days. Each task must be specific, with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also range from being realistic and easy, to slightly difficult and... expensive. Test yourself. See what you can do.

And we have...

1) Make my own headboard, complete with the two mini-lights I have crookedly screwed into my wall on either side of my bed.
2) Eat at Traxx at Union Station.
3) Take the Surf Diva lessons that my mom bought for me for my last birthday.
4) Try a sport I�ve never played before, like rock-climbing. Or curling.
5) Finish and flesh out the new(ish) script idea I�ve had rolling around in my head and either turn it into the movie I have envisioned, or a novel.
6) Go to another musical with Kylee.
7) Go to the �Sound of Music� singalong at the Hollywood Bowl.
8) Go on a skiing trip to the mountains. The actual mountains. Not the piddly little ones in Michigan that were as big as the Rockies 50,000 years ago, but are no longer.
9) Go on a real, actual, grown-up vacation that I pay for entirely myself (and is not a visit to relatives).
10) Get back to my fighting weight of 160.
11) Ask out the Hot Intern. And/or inappropriately make out with him at an office party/happy hour.
12) Go back to East Lansing for a homecoming game at MSU.
13) Reread the script I wrote four years ago without worrying about just how badly it sucks.
14) Rewrite it.
15) Buy a pair of heinously expensive jeans that look absolutely fabulous on me.
16) Bring wine and cheese to a classical concert at the Hollywood Bowl and only half pay attention to the show with a big group of friends.
17) Throw a massive party that�s actually a success.
18) Help my friend Chris produce his screenplay.
19) Actually sign up for and get started with my 401K.
20) Grow my hair out to the middle of my back.
21) Buy my dream car: 2005 electric blue hardtop Mustang.
22) Fall in love.
23) Move into an apartment with hardwood floors that I adore and can also afford.
24) Get an iPod.
25) Clean out my closet.
26) Wear my skinny jeans without fearing that the seams will burst.
27) Throw a dinner party in which I make the main course from scratch.
28) Go to the Getty, stand in front of my favorite painting (The Ransom, by John Everett Millais) for at least 20 minutes, just to see who comes by.
29) Buy myself a piece of gorgeous (real) jewelry.
30) Stealth dress at least once every two weeks (a matching set of sexy lingerie under any old outfit, preferably my most conservative or casual).
31) Sing karaoke to Fiona Apple�s Criminal.
32) Buy a bottle of really good wine and drink the whole thing myself.
33) Go on a romantic mini-break ala Bridget Jones.
34) Ask my boss if I can �warehouse� one of the extra 30� TVs we have sitting unused in our conference room.
35) Go swing dancing at The Derby.
36) Not try to lead.
37) Make my mother�s apple pie recipe without feeling guilty for eating most of it.
38) Buy some kind of funky kitchen appliance and actually use it.
39) Get into a political discussion with my brother-in-law without yelling or raising my voice.
40) Get over my fear of babies.
41) Babysit my nephews by myself for one full evening.
42) Actually finish these stupid lease notices at work.
43) Go to a party/occasion that requires a cocktail dress.
44) Beat any male coworker at ping pong.
45) Make out with a cute random at a bar.
46) Without having more than three cocktails.
47) Dress up as Xena for Halloween with a really good costume.
48) Go camping at Yosemite for a weekend.
49) Go sledding in Michigan with high school friends and then drink hot chocolate in the lodge.
50) Go to a mystery dinner theater thing with friends.
51) Visit Carolyn in Chicago.
52) While in Chicago, go to that late-night hotdog place where they swear at you.
53) Finish my Will & Grace script before the show goes off the air.
54) Volunteer for something I really believe in.
55) Protest something I really despise.
56) Go to an NFL game.
57) Go to a spa and have a facial and massage.
58) Pick a thing (like orchids or cigars) and learn everything there is to know about them.
59) Finish reading A Brief History of Time.
60) Host a girl�s night dinner party�girls only and lots of wine!
61) Buy The Good Spell Book (since Tara lost/kept mine) and cast a love spell.
62) Send a man a drink from across the room.
63) Run into David Duchovny one more time.
64) Take either a cooking or art class.
65) Learn how to update the timesheets I�m in charge of in Tempo before I get fired for not doing.
66) Visit the rest of the states in America that I haven�t ever been to.
67) Go horseback riding at a place that lets you go faster than a limp walk.
68) Break open that bottle of scrumptious cherry wine that I�ve been saving for a special occasion on a special occasion.
69) Go country line dancing with Lauren again and actually attempt to line dance.
70) Go sailing.
71) Go up to Napa again for some wine tasting.
72) Have a campfire down at the beach in Playa.
73) Attend the Drag Races in West Hollywood.
74) Go golfing for once in the state I actually live in.
75) Get my annual check up from my Girl Doctor.
76) Annually.
77) Restring my guitar and actually play it.
78) Look into taking up the bassoon again.
79) Embrace the fact that I�m constantly planning my wedding despite not being the least bit close to actually having a wedding to plan.
80) Watch Lawrence of Arabia because I have never seen it and as a person who holds a Film degree, I aught to be ashamed of myself.
81) Take acting lessons, if only for shits and giggles.
82) Donate at least a quarter of the clothes in my closet to Goodwill.
83) Limit my retail therapy shopping sprees to bi-monthly occurrences which entail spending less than $200.
84) Visit my friend Anna in the Phillippines.
85) Continue my current health-kick/exercise regimen for the *gulp* rest of my life.
86) Coach a little kid�s basketball or volleyball team.
87) Teach friends that don�t know how, how to play euchre and try to play once a month.
88) Have my rocket scientist sister explain how, and if I�m actually using algebra everyday like my high school math teacher maintained daily.
89) Get a puppy.
90) Memorize a really pretentious poem or sonnet so that I can whip it out at strategic instances and make myself appear more intelligent than I actually am.
91) Organize my jewelry drawer.
92) Get my gold chain fixed so that I can actually wear my diamond necklace.
93) Join an indoor volleyball league.
94) Work for a year in Alaska.
95) Visit my sister and brother in law when they move to Virginia.
96) Call Dell and get my stupid computer fixed.
97) Travel to Europe for a vacation. (Work and education don�t count.)
98) Travel to Boston for a weekend with The Queen, whom I haven�t seen in far, far too long.
99) Cave in and get that subscription to Cosmo.
100) Remember everyone in my family�s birthday for an entire year.
101) Take that snowshoeing trip with Rave and Kylee that we�re always talking about.



2004-11-16 3:58 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host