Migraine


It's not a tumah!

Or at least, that's what I have to keep telling myself.

A couple of weeks ago, I was sitting in front of the computer here at work when all of a sudden, I couldn't focus on the computer screen anymore. I had these opaque pinwheels seemingly spinning all around my peripheral vision, eventually blinding me to the point where I could barely see. Needless to say, I freaked out a little bit.

I was convinced that I had diabetic retinopathy or a detached retina or was having an aneurysm or something equally horrible and debilitating. After a quick search on WebMD (that took me forever to read because I could barely see) that only compounded my hypochondriacal certainty that I would suddenly and instantly lose my vision forever, I decided to take the next best step: I called my MOM.

Lucky for my sanity, she instantly knew what was going on.

MOM: It sounds like an aura before a migraine. I used to get them when I was your age, and your sister has had them since puberty.

Me: An aura before a migraine?

MOM: An aura before a migraine.

Me: So I'm not unknowingly diabetic, slowly killing myself and my eyesight with undetected high blood sugar?

MOM: You're not unknowingly diabetic, but you are going to get a headache.

Me: A headache?

MOM: A headache.

Me: About how long after the aura did you get the headache?

MOM: 'Bout a half an hour. How long has it been since you got the aura?

Me: I think about a half an... wait, I think I... SWEET MERCIFUL ZUES, OUCH.

MOM (whispering): Put on some sunglasses and call me in the morning.

Me: *whimper*.

In the course of the next two weeks, I've gotten not one, but THREE other migraines, the worst of which hit me this past Saturday. I also felt like I had one coming on just this morning, but I took some preemptive Tylenol and Ibuprofen and it seems to have staid it for a while.

I'm not sure what's going on with me. I'm hoping it's just that I need to get my glasses prescription filled or some dorky shades to dim these fluorescent lights in here or just some minor pill-popping when I feel one coming on...

Mostly, I'm hoping that they just go away.



2004-04-12 2:46 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host