It Sure is Nice to Know I'm Loved and Appreciated


I am so bored. Insanely bored. Bored enough that I've been playing with the foam/rubber ergonomic hand rest in front of my keyboard. Bored enough that I was twirling it in the air and drumming it on the desk. Bored enough that I decided to slam it down on the marble end table by my desk to see what it sounded like.

I was not expecting quite the sound I got. I swear to you, it sounded like a shotgun blast, it was so damn loud.

I looked up guiltily, waiting for people to charge out from the offices all around, checking to see if I was okay. I steeled myself, trying to quickly decide what I would say. "Um, I was playing around with my ergonomic keyboard pad and I slammed it down on the marble to see what it sounded like." ... No. Couldn't say that. "There was this guy in here, and he had a gun, and I thought I was dead and that he would kill me but oh my god, he just shot once into the ceiling and got back on the elevator. It was the weirdest thing ever. I thought I was going to die!" ... No. Not that either. "What? What noise? What are you talking about? I didn't hear anything." ... Perfect.

I was ready. I was set. I was waiting for the masses to come check on me.

And no one did. Not one. Single. Person. No one came to see if I was laying in a bundled hump on the floor, bleeding from the shotgun wound to the abdomen--the wound just bad enough that I could have been saved if someone had come out of their office to stauch the flow of blood just two seconds sooner.

So thanks, coworkers. I feel really fuckin' appreciated and loved.

2004-05-14 5:11 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host