Rude Awakening


I was having the best dream this morning. A big group of my friends plus Hot Intern were eating at this local diner. We were all sitting along the counter and really just having a good time. Hot Intern seemed fidget-y and nervous, so I asked him what was wrong. (I feel I should mention that everyone was sitting to my left and at one point, I looked to my right for a second, and when I turned back, all of the guys had their shirts off--I have no idea why.) Hot Intern replies, "Okay, I'm just going to do this... Do you want... When McGee's opens up, do you want to go for lunch with me?" Never mind the fact that I have no idea where or what McGee's is. I was raring to go. So, I replied, "Of course, I would love to." He was so adorable and relieved, I can't even tell you how that made me feel. I was elated, excited, and so, so happy.

One of my main fears with regards to the Hot Intern, whether or not it's illogical or stupid, have been that my affection for him is purely one-sided. That I'm no where near good enough for him (despite the fact that I know I'm good enough for anyone). I like this kid SO much that I'm terrified he'll reject me, so I never do anything about my seemingly fathomless passion for him.

You can imagine how I felt when he asked me out. My fears were baseless. He liked me! HE REALLY LIKED ME!

And then I woke up. It wasn't one of those dreams that hangs over until about 11am when you finally realize that no, you don't actually have a date with the object of your affection, and you get to float through the morning on a hazy cloud of bliss. I knew right away it hadn't happened. That I was lying in bed and it had all just been a dream.

One that probably wouldn't come true.

2004-10-25 10:53 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host