Best Boyfriend Evah


I have the best boyfriend. Ever. Dear, sweet Chip.

A little back story... Since moving into the new apartment, my bedroom was set up and pretty not long after the initial move-in. I have had only one thing I have been meaning to get done since day one of moving in without ever actually doing it: buying, erecting and filling a new bookcase that actually matched all of my other bedroom furniture. About two months after moving in, I announced to my coworkers that I was meaning to get up to IKEA and get a new bookcase--at which point they got me an IKEA gift card for my birthday with which to purchase said bookcase. About two months after that, Chip and I actually got up to IKEA and purchased the bookcase. ...Which has been sitting in the box, not yet assembled, up against the wall where I want the bookcase to go along with six boxes full of books and other crap that I mean to fill it with.

I mean, I've wanted to put it together and finally, finally unpack my stuff, I've just never had the time, energy, or the right combination of the two to actually do it.

Well, I'd decided that last night was the night. I didn't have plans, Chip had a date with his laundry, and I was motivated... Perhaps slightly by the fact that Chip had teased me throughout the day for the big pile of shit and boxes in the corner of my otherwise attractive, well-decorated room. So upon walking into my apartment, I dropped my shit by the door, marched into my room and... found that the big pile of shit was gone. In it's stead: my bookcase. Totally put together and filled with my books and other paraphernalia in an almost more attractive way than I probably would have done myself.

I seriously stood there with my mouth agape. I was very much in the "what... how... huh?"

Until it occurred to me.

Chip.

The events of the weekend coalesced in my head and I realized that when I left him laying in my bed Saturday morning to head to basketball practice and then on to meet him at his apartment for the rest of the weekend, he had managed to assemble my bookcase, unpack my crap, and most surprisingly, not mention a word of it until I actually walked through my bedroom door to see it for myself. Unbelievable.

Best. Boyfriend. Evah!

2005-09-14 4:32 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host