Much Ado About Not Jumping Billy Campbell When I Had the Chance


It�s safe to say that this weekend didn�t go quite as planned. Instead of the jam-packed two day spree of softball playing, pimp & ho partying, Shakespearean canoodling, calling in sick on Monday that I�d originally intended, I ended up calling in sick on Friday because I actually was sick, canceling the pimp & ho party on Saturday night, playing softball for two different teams because I was in such hot demand (while on Sudafed), and making eyes with the man who would end up kicking Heath Ledger off of My List.

Now, I really do want to go into detail about the softball tournament that I played in on Saturday, and the party that wasn�t meant to be, and even about the great time I had with Kristen and Mer in San Diego on Sunday. But I can�t. Because really, all it comes back to is Billy Campbell and how freaking hot that man is.

Have. Mercy.

Do you want to hear about the sweet double play I made after snagging a line drive down the first base line and then throwing the runner out at third? I thought you would. Billy Campbell's eyes are gorgeous. Really. Gorgeous.

Let me tell you about the unfortunate postponment of the long-awaited and highly-anticipated pimp & ho event, Snap, Crackle, Pimp. We were all set to party like rock stars, or... pimps, when people started cancelling left and right and changing their evites at the last minute and do you realize how tall Billy Campbell is? He's really tall. I mean, I was wearing heels and he was still taller than me.

And I finally made it to the San Diego Zoo! What a great zoo. We couldn't get to the tigers because there was some crazy weird construction going on and we couldn't figure out how the hell to get up there. We ended up taking the little aerial tram which was fun, but went WAY too fast so that you were like "Gorillas!" but then by the time everyone else turned to look at the gorillas, you were already by them. But that's okay, because Mer's friend scored us free passes into the zoo, and I mean, you can't beat free stuff with a stick. I know, because I bought a stick and those free tickets were more than that stick could handle. Know what else was free? The tickets to the Globe to see gorgeous, gorgeous Billy Campbell in Much Ado About Nothing, that Mer also scored us.

The show was seriously terrific. I've seen Much Ado in Stratford, Ontario at the Stratford Festival, and also at a couple of other venues, but this production was by far the best one. The casting was fantastic, the set totally rocked, and Billy Campbell was completely gorgeous. And he was wearing a uniform! And a sword! Wow, he was cute.

And we were stupid. For not being fangirls and throwing ourselves at him when we had the chance. You see, we were outside talking to some of Mer's friends from her San Diego theater days when all of a sudden who walks by but the delicious, delicious Billy Campbell. We kept nudging each other, as he stopped and talked to a few people, encouraging each other to approach him, but none of us had the guts. Not even when we were discussing the absolute pointlessness of having degrees in film and theater with Blond Girl, (whose name I don't remember and feel bad about) and Billy interrupted our conversation to give the girl a hug, did any of us step in. I think I was too busy swooning after he gave me the sorry-for-interrupting eye/smile combo to say anything to him, but you'd think the other two girls would have said something. Kidding! Mer actually gave it a valiant attempt just as he was jumping on his bike and leaving, but alas, he was jumping on his bike and leaving. No luck.

But that didn't stop us from talking about Billy Campbell's beauty for an hour afterward, nor did it stop Kristen and I from squealing and drooling for the entire two hour trip back up to LA.

Mmmm. Well done, Billy Campbell, well done.

"Billy Campbell, you maginificent bastard!" --Kristen

2003-10-02 10:20am

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host