Blast From the Past


For some reason last night, I decided to go through some of my old high school yearbooks. Wow. There�s some weird shit in there.

I decided to post some of the comments that high school friends wrote in my senior yearbook, because as I said before�there�s some weird shit in there...

Whats up Snoop Doggy Dog, yup, that�s your name. Well volleyball this year is going to kick ass. Spanish 4 is the shit. Congrats on your acceptance to Mich St. hope you make the right choice. Good luck. Keep in touch. ~ Brandi

I don�t ever remember her calling me Snoop Dog, but I�m fine with it. I especially appreciate her assertion for posterity that Spanish IV is, in fact, The Shit. Surprisingly enough, I still keep in touch with Brandi, and went wine tasting with her this past summer when I went back to Michigan for a vacation. Maybe I should have asked her if she thinks I made the right choice.

Slip, Hey girlfriend! Well, were do I begin? Chem/Physics? Alg II? W. Geo? Anyways, I�m really glad that we have become such good friends and I hope we will always stay in touch. Dean Cain is a stud! Don�t forget to be careful on wooden banister in life!!! Love ya, Becky

Notice how Becky didn�t begin with English. Maybe she was in the remedial class. Unfortunately, we didn�t stay in touch. I think she�s still living in our hometown, and is, if I�m not mistaken, married now. Her comments also bring to mind that I had quite the crush on Dean Cain in high school. Sadly, this is not the only time his name will be dropped in the yearbook comments. And if I recall correctly, I believe my departing words to Becky in HER yearbook were: �May you slide down the banister of life and not get a splinter in your ass.� Good times.

Slip�YOU ARE COOL�I LIKE SPANISH�GOOD LUCK ~ CARRIE

This may be the Best. Yearbook comment. EVER.

Slip- Hey, we�ve had some great times over the years. I will never forget the time we went to Mark�s cabin and lied to our parents. Softball will rock this year. Thanks for being a great friend throughout the years. Keep in touch. ~ Emily

Oh, Emily. I will never forget the time we went to Mark�s cabin and lied to our parents, either. Especially since that very night our parents happened to run into each other down at the waterfront and we both got into seriously deep shit. My mother is still really bitter about that little incident. What makes the incident even more memorable was that your brother showed up to the party at Mark�s cabin and said �Hey Emily, Mom ran into Slip�s dad down at the waterfront. You guys are in seriously deep shit.� Softball was pretty damn rocking fun, if I remember correctly, though I haven�t kept in touch with Emily like I would have liked to. She still lives in our hometown, but works on a three-masted schooner that sails Lake Michigan and is the resident wine expert at Symon�s General Store. Last I heard, she was going to move out to northern California for a season and work on the vineyards there.

Slip, God this is such a great year! Man I can�t wait until college! Seems weird that we will be splitting up soon�going our separate ways. MSU�what a great school!! Hard decisions ahead of us. B-ball is great�don�t want it to end! Have fun with everything you decide to accomplish in your life!! Stay cool, peace. ~ Carolyn, #22

Carolyn really likes exclamation points!! But I really like Carolyn. She�s a sentimental shmuck, but still one of my best friends to this day. She flew out here recently for a week and we had an absolute blast. And if you couldn�t tell, she was #22 in basketball. That number thing is a trend that continues.

Slip�Where shall I start? From 6th grade till now, we�ve had some fun times. Don�t forget about the BVI sitting outside and folding napkins while everyone else was out clearing and resetting. �Slackers!� You�re the best V-ball basher. I just hope I never have to play against you. Good luck if you move on and play V-ball or B-ball or baseball in college. I�ll come watch all your games. This year you better get asked to prom by a MALE! C-ya, Jamie

Let me first clarify that I don�t ever remember getting asked to prom by a female, though I suppose it�s possible that it happened. In any event, I didn�t get asked to prom by a male of any persuasion. I ended up going stag for the second year in a row. Depressing, yes. But it was totally fun. Jamie and I worked together as catering waitresses for a few years at a place called Stafford�s Bay View Inn before she moved on to another job, and I was promoted to a full waitress in the dining room. I didn�t even remember slacking off outside folding napkins while everyone else worked until now. It seems my slacking tendencies were being honed in adolescence. Jamie tried out for volleyball later that year but didn�t make the team. It�s unfortunate�she wasn�t a great player, but she�s a fantastic girl. Really one of the best people I�ve ever met. She�s still living in our hometown and is now married.

Slip, Hey babe! Well, our junior year has FINALLY ended and our senior yr is here. Never forget the fun we had in VanWagoner�s Chem-Physics class. Him and his super-sonic hearing. Thank God for corrections! :) Well babe, I will always relate Superman to you, especially Dean Cain. Always remember our Mountain Dew commercial sophomore yr. Well, babes I wish you the best of luck in all you do!! Good luck and have fun! Stay in touch, Love ya, Kendra

I have no idea what Mountain Dew commercial she�s talking about. Damn. I do, however, remember Mr. Van Wagoner�s Chem-Physics class, and his super-sonic hearing. Kendra, Becky and I sat together in that class and we would whisper in these really, REALLY quiet voices, and somehow, the man would hear exactly what we were talking about. It was kind of creepy. I see another Dean Cain mention. Lovely. Kendra is still living in Northern Michigan and married Shawn, her high school sweetheart, and another friend of mine. I�ve kept in touch with her pretty well, but wish we could do better.

Slip, Good luck in Basketball. Since I�m out, I�ll leave it up to you to dominate (just kidding!) I wish you well in volleyball at Michigan State! I�m really glad we got to know each other. Your really funny. -- Sarah, #52

Sarah was a sweet kid. Kind of vacant, but in a really funny way. If she hadn�t been so na�ve (and we hadn�t already assigned the nickname to someone else), we probably would have called her Endo. I think she got injured toward the end of our basketball season� She was a freshman when I was a senior and got sucked into playing varsity basketball by our tyrant of a coach. I took her and the other freshman under my wing and protected them as best I could from his onslaughts. I just remembered that. Look at me! I was all honorable and shit in high school! Who knew?!

Slip, Did you get that scholarship from Michigan State for volleyball? If not, you will soon! I�m so glad we have become such good friends! Good luck next year! ~ Jennica #4

Jennica was the other freshman on our basketball team. She was a pretty damn cool kid, too.

Bug, Hey chickie, you�re a great friend all these years I�ve known you. You�ve made a lot of improvement this year in basketball. WE WILL BEAT GAYLORD!! I�m actually getting excited, really excited for basketball districts and even more excited to Beat Gaylord. I�m also excited for volleyball. I bow to you. We will dominate! Good luck next year in all you do. Make sure you stay in touch. Amanda, #24

I have stayed in touch with Amanda, thankfully, but I don�t think we ever did beat Gaylord. Which sucks. We really, really hated Gaylord.

Slip, What can I say? We�re finally seniors. I�ll never forget the time I tried to jet ski at your house. I�ll also never forget our car accident. It�s a good think I had that bag under the seat! Always keep in touch and good luck in everything you do. Love, Amanda N

I totally remember Amanda trying to water ski at my house (not jet ski). She totally ate shit, and I think got a bloody nose for her efforts. Poor thing. The car accident she�s referring to was a few months after I�d turned sixteen. She and I were on our way home from the beach in the car that I shared with my sister. I rear-ended the daughter-in-law of my elementary school secretary (small town!) and when we hit, this bottle of vodka that my senior sister had under the seat flew out. Amanda shoved it in her bag, afraid they would think we were drinking or simply just get in trouble for having it, and then shoved her backpack back under the seat. She totally saved the day with that move. Well played, Amanda N. Well played.

I think that�s enough for now. Blast from the past!


2004-10-26 10:25 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host