In Which Our Hero Kind of Blathers


Ha! Just when you thought I'd never update again... I DO.

Not that anyone is still even reading my journal, because, well, why would you when it's updated roughly once a month, but if you happened to enter the wrong URL or something, LOOK! Updated. Just for you.

I'm not sure why I haven't updated in so long. Probably because I've been so busy outside of work. But then, work is like, anti-busy, and all I do is sit in front of a computer and have access to the internet, where I usually spend an hour or so reading OTHER people's blogs and journals, so... Who knows, really.

And it's not as if I don't have a lack of fun, colorful anecdotes from my life. There was that wedding Chip and I went to two weeks ago that was... kind of not very fun. Which sucked too, as we flew completely across the country for it, but... the food was bad, the DJ was just an embarrassing nightmare, and CHIP FORCED ME TO CATCH THE BOUQUET (which is pretty easy when you're 6'1" and have pretty damn good hand-eye coordination) AND THEN FAILED TO GET THE GARTER LIKE HE PROMISED. Not only did he fail to get it, but the group of single guys out on the dance floor was riddled with Air Force pilots and other young, in-shape, fairly handsome guys, and who should catch the garter, but the bride's mother's boyfriend, who is mid-to-late 50's, bald, and was kind of drunk. Not that the drunk part was all bad. Because after he put the garter on me (halfway through, Chip came over to 'supervise' the procedure), I decided that I didn't really need a garter and so I walked over to give it to HIM, and, surrounded by other mid-to-late 50's balding, drunk people, he proceeded to put the garter ON HIS HEAD and do a little dance.

Which, I'm not going to lie, was kind of worth Chip not catching it in the first place.

And then there's the upcoming fairly giant dinner party Chip and I are putting on -- the second in a now annual event we started last year -- which we used to call... I don't even remember, something about Italian food, I think, but after discovering last year that the wine was far more central a figure in the evening than the food, we are now calling Chianti Fest. Which I think we retro-actively started calling last year's fete, too. Because, y'all... there was SO much frigging Chianti. I had to call in sick the next day (we learned our lesson and have moved back the event to Saturday rather than Sunday), and people were begging to just sleep on our floor instead of catching cabs or whatever home. We really shouldn't have drunk so much.

This year we're just planning on having it a day earlier and being hung-over all day Sunday like regular people.

I'm very excited for the party. We have our guest list all figured out, and I even made some really cool name-card holders out of Chianti corks (we have a million of them... probably half from last year) and are adding one or two more dishes this year (even though we had plenty of food last year) one dish of which, I get to make. So, yay! There's that.

I've been otherwise busy, too. Earlier this week, I did drinks with Heath, interestingly enough, right next door to a Beverages & More. We, of course, having met early enough to enjoy happy hour prices, enjoyed more happy hour drinks than we should have, and in our Silenus-like mirth, decided that we'd walk over to BevMo to sober up a bit, and see what they had in the Chianti department. Oops. I may be thoroughly broke at present, but they had such! good! prices! That I could totally afford a couple of those gallon-jugs of Chianti that are so attractively wrapped in Italian wicker, and hey! why not a bottle or two of the really good Chianti that Chip and I can drink while cooking, because it's fairly cheap here after all, and HEY! my favorite Cabernet is here. Not on sale at all, but... There's only one bottle left! I have to have it!

If you need to find me, I'll be working weekends as a barista to pay off my credit card bills.

So, that's mostly that. Rest assured though, after this weekend's feast, I'm sure I'll have more than one colorful anecdote to share here. We all just need to cross our fingers that the Chianti lets me remember them.

2006-09-28 10:07 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host