Make New Friends, But Keep the Old. One Is Silver and the Other's a Drag Queen.


This is a story about new friends and old friends. It's also about drag queens and lots and lots of tequila.

My friend RDJ, who I never see, was in Hollywood on Friday, and as we A) never see each other, and B) have an affinity for Marix, a Tex-Mex restaurant with killer margaritas (and a totally gay scene), we decided to meet there Friday evening and then maybe go see Connie and Carla. (We're both kind of hot for David Duchovny. If you define "kind of hot" as going to a movie premiere that we knew he was attending, meeting him, and then having a complete girlie-screaming-and-jumping-up-and-down breakdown five minutes later.) I told RDJ that I'd just drive up there after work and wait for her, as we weren't sure when she would be done doing her thing. I'm by no means reticent of going somewhere by myself, be it a restaurant for dinner or a movie or whathaveyou, but going to a bar by yourself, even if you are going there to meet someone, smacks a bit of alcoholic depression or hermicy or both. I don't know why. It just does. So, after waiting for about a half an hour, I was pleasantly surprised to find myself talking to a (somewhat) obviously gay man who we'll call Brian.

We became instant best friends and were having a ball when I asked him what he did for a living. He said "actor" which came as no surprise whatsoever, being that we were in West Hollywood and he was both good looking and effervescent. What did come as a surprise, was that he mentioned that he was actually in Connie and Carla. He mentioned that he played one of the drag queens that surrounds C&C on stage, and I congratulated him on it's opening and also basically just assumed that he had a small part in one of those blink-and-you-miss-it cameos. Nevertheless, I told him that RDJ and I were probably going to go see it, and he gave me his card and told me to call him and let him know what I thought of it.

Eventually, his friends showed up, and my friend showed up and we went our seperate ways. His next door for dinner, and ours to wait an hour and a half for a table.

When it finally came time for us to sit down and eat dinner (at this point, I was more than a little inebriated, having had several margaritas and zero food), I went to sit down at the table the hostess pointed us to, when all of a sudden, a gentleman appears and pulls out my seat for me. I look up, and low and behold, it's Brian. Also quite inebriated. In any event, I introduce him to RDJ, and we all make plans to meet up later in the evening. (At this point, it's far, FAR too late to go see the movie.)

Our dinner was fantastic, and more and more tequila flowed... Enough so that when it came time to meet up with Brian, we couldn't even find our asses with both hands, much less Brian and his friends. So, we went home and passed out.

Never women to renege on our word, we went to see Connie and Carla at it's very first showing the next morning. Hung-over though we were.

About a half an hour in, who appears on the screen but Brian, and we give our obligatory "Oh my God, look! It's our new friend Brian!"'s fully expecting to never see his lovely face grace the screen again. When all of a sudden, the camera is back on him, and he has lines. Lots of them. When the movie is over, we see that he has fifth billing and had quite a big part. I called him later, as I said I would, and told him how much I loved the movie (I did--although it was a bit flawed, it was worth going to, and had more than a few parts where I nearly yorfed Diet Coke out of my nose...had I been drinking a Diet Coke). He thanked me and said we should meet up for coffee or drinks later in the week and I said of course, fully thinking that I would probably never hear from him again.

Imagine my surprise when he called me yesterday afternoon and invited me to have a drink with him that evening.

We found ourselves again at Marix, promising to only have a maximum of two drinks, as I had to work in the morning, and he'd had a few the night before... Didn't happen. Brian and I are a force to be reckoned with. We ended up at three different clubs, drinking far more than our two drink maximum, and having entirely too much fun.

So, I'm happy to report that I have a great new friend here in LA. One that makes a really fabulous drag queen.

"Hit it, Thelma." -- Carla, Connie and Carla

2004-04-19 4:37 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host