America: Kicking British Ass Since 1776


Last night, I was drawn into, as oft happens, PBS programming. Okay, so maybe not that often, only when quality broadcast programming like say, American Idol or an old episode of The X-Files isn't on. In any event, it wasn't the first time I'd watched Warrior Challenge, a show in which an American team and a British team usually comprised of a group of either country's military forces (though in this case it was some American zoomies (USAF) versus some British police forces) duke it out in some authentic ancient garb (this time they were being vikings) in order to claim... that they won... They don't win a prize or anything, because this is PBS. Though I probably would have paid good money to see Airman Castle win a recording contract of some kind.

Anyway, last night, our intrepid heros got dressed up in chain mail and helmets (none of which had those cool horns, disappointingly enough) and tried to rape, pilage, row and beat the crap out of each other while staying the night in thatched huts and eating eggs, sausages, and cheese that at first everyone thought was lard.

And despite the fact that the Yanks lost one of their own to a dislocated collar bone (and he barely complained--not like those pansy-assed vikings who I'm sure would have had plenty of whine to go with their lardy cheese) in the first day, the Americans still managed to whump the Brits but good. Which got me thinking--I can't say as I've ever seen an episode of this show where the British did actually win. I'm sure there have been episodes where the Union Jack was raised victorious, but... I've never seen it.

Now, I don't want to go too far into the likely reasons behind this, because I confess to being a complete anglo-phile and absolutely adored the British Isles in the short time that I lived there. But, it seems to be a growing trend, the US beating up the Brits, that perhaps Her Majesty might want to work on. Because I mean really, next week Dubya might decide he wants to kill innocent British citizens, and looking at the USA v. UK track record, it doesn't bode well for our accented neighbors across the pond.

"Oh, you English are so superior, aren't you? Well do you know where you'd be without us, the good ole USofA to protect you? I'll tell you. The smallest fucking province in the Russian empire! That's what! So don't call me stupid, lady, just thank me." --A wav. from one of my many bad-ass mix tapes from her majesty, The Queen

2003-07-30 4:30 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host