A Drive to Distraction...And Then Depression


I have a couple of things to say here about this past weekend, but I'll start with an entry I wrote last Friday night. That's about all the prefacing it needs...

_______________________________________

Let me beging by saying that my life right now is not. going. well.

In fact, in an effort to aliviate the problems I'm facing (although admittedly some are inescapable...because they are attached to me...because they are my shoulder) a few weeks ago I decided to hell with the expense, I needed to get out of town, out of LA, out of California. Just out. Just away. And for the best in TLC, which I really need right now, you don't look any further than your grandparents. So that's where I decided to go. I booked a flight leaving at 6:24 tonight for a nice weekend in Tucson.

Sounds great, right? It sounds great to me, too. It sounded great when I booked the ticket a few weeks ago, and it even sounded great at 7:00 this morning, when I had to leave for work because I switched shifts with someone so I could leave early and catch my flight. It still sounded great at 3:50pm when the shuttle was supposed to pick me up. Of course, when 4:20 rolled around and I was on the phone with the shuttle service because I was still at my apartment, the shine had worn off the greatness a little bit. When I called again at 4:50 and the shuttle lady said "you're not driving yourself?" the gloss came off the Great, and it shot right down to being okay. When the shuttle finally picked me up at 5:20 while I was on the phone with someone else at the shuttle service telling them that I was normally a very nice person but was about to become a Really Big Bitch, it went from okay to being Something Else That's Causing Me a Fair Amount of Grief. And when my freaking driver decided to get on THE FREEWAY in LOS ANGELES at RUSH HOUR, it degraded right down into being Another One of my Bad Ideas.

I got to the airport ten minutes before my flight was going to take off, and again called the shuttle company. The manager was nice enough to tell me that any expenses I incurred because of my delay would be covered by the shuttle company. That's all well and good, but it doesn't help the fact that my poor grandparents are going to have to pick me up at midnight (they're OCTOGENARIANS, people!). However, the three giant beers I have consumed so far here at the airport bar are most definately going to be charged to Super Shuttle.

A company that has also lost it's luster as being Super to being Another Bad Idea.

I mean, I appreciate the free ride to the airport and all, but not only did I totally miss my flight, but the driver's aftershave burned my eyes.

I guess I should be thankful though, I mean, the last time I missed a flight, I ended up sitting in the cockpit of a small commuter plane flying to Key West in the middle of a thunderstorm.

Here's hoping for a relaxing weekend with the g'rents.

2004-02-23 2:45 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host