Tempted by the Fruit of Another


I�m in love. Absolute, head over heels, undeniable, irrefutable love.

With the guy from the new Gap jeans commercial. You know the one I�m talking about. You probably move closer to the TV whenever it airs, too.

A delicious, delicious specimen of man (much like one Mr. Billy Campbell) climbs out of bed (repeatedly) with ab muscles scrunching up, and then he does this adorable sideways head rub thing, and then he walks down the street and up some stairs in Gap jeans, and then falls slow-mo, spread eagle, back into bed with me.

Okay, that last part�s just in my head. For now.

But the commercial? The most brilliant conceptual assemblage of imagery ever conceived? The one set to music by Squeeze? It stars my new commercial boyfriend. Now, my last commercial boyfriend? The guy from the Degree commercial with the droids? We broke up. Aside from the fact that they stopped showing his commercial and that my attention span tends to be a bit mercurial, our relationship was destroyed by the fact that he was a playboy of Corinthian proportions. I�m also still trying to figure out his name. Anyway, my new boyfriend and I are obscenely happy. We go out a few times every night, and he�s always brilliant and trendy and makes me not only want to go out and buy a new pair of jeans, but also a toothbrush, some toothpaste and a flannel for my face. It�s weird.

I�m drawn to him. And he�s obviously drawn to me, otherwise he wouldn�t show up a few times a night (twice during Joan of Arcadia!!). Now, I�m not sure of his name, either, but I now find myself in a much more advantageous position to find out.

You know, since I work in commercials now. I simply have to ask who does the Gap ads, and then perhaps, casually wonder aloud who does their casting. And if I can get in touch with them.

Because let�s face it. Even if the man doesn't ever change his clothes, with the getting out of bed five times with no shirt on and scrunching up his abs like that and the weird sideways head rub? He�s already got mine.



2003-10-06 12:00 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host