Grinch


Oprah's Favorite Things was on TV today, where she gives away a million bucks worth of gifts to her audience, all for holiday gift ideas for the rest of us.

Normally, it's kind of fun to watch. The audience get so damn excited and gets so much free stuff, you get excited for them. I know how Oprah feels, giving away all of that stuff. I love Christmas gift-giving; it's my favorite thing. I love watching people open the presents I got them and seeing them suprised and happy.

Well, ten minutes into Oprah today, I broke down bawling in front of the TV. Because no one in my family is going to get a gift from me this year. I won't be sending out cards like I usually do, and I probably won't be quite as merry because of it.

I just can't afford it. I've had to borrow money from my parents to pay rent, and I refuse to borrow money from them to buy them gifts. This year, I'm making peanut brittle for my grandparents and step sister. I'm going to offer a night of babysitting to my sister and brother-in-law, and I'm going to do the dishes for the week that I'm home for my mom and step dad. And I'm absolutely and completely wrecked about it. I want to go home so badly, but I don't want to show my face to anyone. I'm embarrassed and humiliated, and completely torn up.

No amount of it's-the-thought-that-counts will make up for it. I am completely wretched. How do you call your family and say "please don't get me anything this year, because I can't get anything for you?" How do you do that? They're going to get you something anyway.

To be honest, I don't even know if I want to go home this year, because I can't bear it.

I don't want to see old friends because I don't want to have to face them feeling like a failure. I don't want to see relatives I see only once a year because I want them to go on remembering me as the person I was last year. I don't want to face my family on Christmas morning and not get to see them opening a gift.

I am the Grinch this year. And I am completely miserable because of it. My heart really does feel two sizes too small.



2003-11-24 3:17 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host