Grindy-grindy Fuck-fuck


So for Christmas this year, I gave Chip eight weeks worth of ballroom dancing lessons. I�m not going to say the gift was completely altruistic as Chip needs a partner, and what do you know, I get ballroom dancing lessons, too! Handy. The classes have been going really well and we�ve been having a great time, despite some rhythm issues and related toe-stepping frustration. We�ve learned the Foxtrot, Tango and Waltz, and last night our instructor attempted to teach the class how to just elegantly slow dance without looking like a middle school couple. Which, by the way? Hard. Half the class had to stop about halfway into the first song (myself included) because we were all dizzy.

In any event, with these new dancing skills comes the inevitable desire to actually use them. I mean, here Chip and I are, armed with the ability to break into a waltz at the first hint of a 1, 2, 3, 1, 2, 3 count, and next to nowhere to actually exercise it. I think Chip succinctly vented this frustration last night as we were walking to class.

Chip: You know, I wish it was normal these days to actually do this kind of dancing.
Me: I know what you mean.
Chip: I mean, you used to be able to go to a dance club there are fifty people doing the Foxtrot. Nowadays you walk into a club and it�s all� Grindy-grindy Fuck-fuck.
Me: Grindy-grindy Fuck-fuck?
Chip: Grindy-grindy Fuck-fuck.
Me: You just gave me the title of my next journal entry.
Chip: YAY!

It�s true, though. I mean, with the exception of the occasional wedding or other kind of party (and assuming the band knows some old standards), rare is the opportunity to ever break out a Foxtrot or a Waltz or a Tango. And even then, people are usually surprised and all �check it out!� pointing to the couple on the dance floor. I mean, just at the place where we take our dance lessons, I�m sure there are probably at least two rear-endings a month just by people driving by who look in the window, see these dances going on, and just stare� until they hit the person stopped in front of them. It makes me a little sad, quite frankly, that no one knows these standard old dances when people are obviously still interested (and many fascinated).

I guess what I�m trying to say is, I wish there was a little more Foxtrot out there, and a little less Grindy-grindy Fuck-fuck.


2006-03-22 10:55 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host