What's It To You?


Taking a page out of Kristen's book, I was thinking over the weekend of all the guilty pleasure songs that I know and love. And try not to admit to.

But now my friends, I'm copping to it. I even made a guilty pleasure CD with the following songs. And the fact that I can MAKE a CD let's you know just how guilty a pleasure these are. Because I don't download.

1) She�s Like the Wind, Patrick Swayze--I don't care if you dance dirty, or you don't dance at all. You know every single word to this song, and you probably didn't even know that Patrick Swayze sang it until 1997. Or now.

2) A Moment Like This, Kelly Clarkson--The ubiquitous American Idol song. You watched it, you loved it, and we both know you voted. Lots of times.

3) This is the Night, Clay Aiken--I'm sorry, but you can't have Kelly on here and not have Clay. Props to Ruben, but... A brother goes down.

4) Rock Me Gently, Andy Kim--Many people don't know this song, but whenever I have it blaring in my car, I always get the odd sideways oh-my-God-is-that...Andy-Kim? look.

5) Faded, Soul Decision--Yay! Stupid, pretty boys singing pretty stupid songs! One of two.

6) Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves, Cher--I will openly admit to liking Cher. I will also openly admit that chances are I'm really just a gay man trapped in a woman's body. Your call.

7) Senorita, Justin Timberlake--It was either this song or "Rock Your Body," and RYB is just such a rocking song that this was the more guilty of the two. No one will admit to buying Justin's first solo record, but odd that so many people know every single song on it. Curious, no?

8) Summer Girls, LFO--Again with the Yay! Stupid, pretty boys singing pretty stupid songs. Two of two. Love them.

9) Gettin� Jiggy Wit It, Will Smith--Admit it, in the privacy of your own home, you too have tried to do the arm-hip shimmy to GJWI. I've seen you.

10) Tubthumping, Chumbawamba--Picture it, Sicily 1932... You're in a bar, you're kind of drunk, this song comes on the jukebox and you instantly shriek "oh my God, I LOVE this song!" Then you flit your eyes in every direction, hoping no one saw or heard you. Then you try as hard as you possibly can not to dance and sing along.

11) I Know Where It�s At, All Saints--All Who?All SAINTS, my friends. They sang three songs, mystified Prince Charles with what "Booty Call," actually meant, and then went softly into that goodnight. Good riddance to the group, but I frigging love this song.

12) Luv Me, Luv Me, Shaggy--Yeah, I don't own a Shaggy CD, either. Wait, how the hell did that get in there?

13) Fantasy, Mariah Carey--This is probably one of the ultimate dance-around-your-bedroom-in-your-underwear-singing-into-a-hairbrush songs. And you love it as much as I do.

14) Jessie�s Girl, Rick Springfield--Okay, so it's probably not quite as guilty as it was in the 90's, but it's still totally a pleasure. Stupid Jessie. The lucky bastard.

15) Escape, Rupert Holmes--Some people hate this song. I'll never understand why. I mean, who doesn't love pina coladas and getting caught in the rain? Don't answer that.

16) I Think I Love You, The Partridge Family--Secretly, you're still in love with Keith Partridge. Depsite the mullet and the fact that you weren't even born when he was a hot commodity. Alright already, most of that is probably just me.

17) Saved By The Bell Theme�-Whatever. You know every single word. You're so excited, and yet... you're so scared.

2003-10-07 12:19 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host