Halle Crap! That Was a Good One!


So after last weekend's Michael Rosenbaum sighting, I spent the last week thinking more and more about all of the various celebrity sightings I've had since I moved to LA, and how, with each one, they become a little less exciting. I mean, with the exception of the oft-spoken-about Oscar Night round of sightings, and of course the infamous lunch with David Duchovny which I've pulled because I was getting too many hits for comfort, I've managed about one sighting every month or so, with a few dry spells throughout.

And with the exception of the Meal With Mulder, in which my mouth got really dry and I shook a little, I haven't had a sighting lately where I completely lost my shit.

When I first moved out here, I had a friend that worked for Dr. Drew. One night one thing sort of led to another and though I was planning on sitting in a car while she ran into a concert to pick something up, by night's end I found myself sitting next to Dr. Drew at a benefit concert with Seal and Rebecca Romaine (I can't spell her name so for now she's lettuce) Stamos in front of me, Marla Sokoloff on the other side, and Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson behind me. At some point in the night, I was backstage standing next to Seal and the whole of Jurassic Five and Sugar Ray and on my way out of the greenroom bathroom managed to accidentally slam shoulders with Mr. Tom Hanks. I had a nasty, nasty cold that night and managed through with little to no nerves, simply because I didn't have the energy to be nervous and jittery around all of these famous people. I was too busy being dehydrated and looking for kleenex. And since then, I've managed to get by and be relatively blase whenever I see a celebrity.

In recent weeks, I've seen Cuba Gooding Jr. at the Promenade, Jon Voight at the Century City shopping plaza, and even Michael Rosenbaum was kind of ho-hum. Even if he was hot.

And surprisingly, last night, when I had pretty huge sighting, I still found myself more concerned with the fact that I was wearing a pink tank top and pig tails than with the huge talent I was standing right next to.

You see, last night my friend Kylee and I decided to go see Seabiscuit (totally worth the price of admission, by the way) and seeing as how I've seen a million movies in Century City by now, I knew right where to park so that we could come out on the escalator by the theater. Well, we get up there and had already purchased our ticket, so we were going to hop on the escalator up to the theater's entrance which was on the second floor. Now, there were some people standing at the bottom of the escalator who seemed to just be standing there, and not really ready to get on the thing, so I kind of was my pushy self and jumped on ahead of them. Only when I realized that they had gotten on right after me and had actually been waiting to get on did I realize how rude I had been and turned around to apologize. And only when I turned around to apologize did I realize that I was turning around (in a pink tank top and pig tails) to apologize to Halle Berry and Eric Benet. As I was opening my mouth to apologize, I realized who it was and turned around really fast, too thrown to say anything, and made eye-contact with Kylee who had also noticed who they were. We exchanged Holy SHIT! glances and rode the rest of the way up in silence.

That may be my best sighting since Tom Hanks.

And the best part was that while Kylee was in line getting a Diet Coke, Eric Benet was paying at the register next to her and started laughing at her because she was paying for the pop in quarters because she is just that broke.

But still, I was kind of non-excited about it, and I'm wondering if there might be something wrong with me. Maybe I need to starting reading US Weekly more so I know what kind of hinky stuff they're all up to.

"Fame is a fickle friend Harry. Celebrity is as celebrity does. Remember that." -- Gilderoy Lockhart, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

2003-08-10 6:03 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host