Omigod, I Hate People


I never thought I would utter the above phrase more than when I was a waitress, but I can tell you that in the last two or three days, that's all I've been muttering under my breath/emailing to Chip/writing on post-its and I don't even have a cook or chef or busboy with whom I can commiserate.

I have found myself lately pimped out to do odd jobs, and while I'm not averse to it--better than sitting at my desk bored--today it started bordering on ridiculous.

I mean, I've been asked to find the impossible information--which I frequently actually DO find--every now and then, and have even been lent to a different department to cover the erstwhile lunch break, but today I was asked to get in touch with the IRS to change our legal company name.

I'm sorry... WHA...?

Apparently, Reputable Company, which changed its name 7 years ago from Directional Reputable Company, neglected to inform the IRS. I mean, how is that even A) possible, or B) MY job? I don't work in the Finance department. I don't even work in the corporate headquarters. And to quote Chip, "That seems, and no offense, because I know you're perfectly capable, but... kind of above your pay grade."

You think?

It makes me totally nervous. I mean, apparently, it's pretty simple. I was told "Oh, you just fax them at this number and include the tax ID number and stuff, and just put 'name change' in the subject line." First off, surely it's not THAT easy. If it were, I could photoshop the freaking Coca Cola Company's logo onto a piece of paper, make up a letterhead and change their name to Super Happy Delicious Soda Pop Company. (I bet that would sell well in Japan, at least.) Secondly, ...I don't even have a secondly. How am I possibly authorized to do this?

Chip later said to me "I think we'll all be amused if the President and CEO of Reputable Company goes to jail because of a mistake you make with the IRS." Well THAT wouldn't happen. ...Because I would be totally Scooter-Libby-ed!

Maybe that's the point here, though. Perhaps I'm supposed to be the fall guy.

And perhaps SOMEONE ELSE SHOULD HAVE INFORMED THEM OF THIS CHANGE SEVEN YEARS AGO. ...I'm just saying.

I hate people.

2007-01-24 1:21 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host