That's Not How It's Supposed To Happen!


Okay, seriously? What the hell. It's safe to say that I really didn't see this coming.

Yesterday started off as any other. If by "any other" you take it to mean that as soon as I came into work I was told that I would be starting my new position immediately while simultaneously also working my old/current job; I didn't see Hot Intern at all, and The OC came in looking more dapper than normal.

(By the way, I've gotten a promotion, I don't know if I've actually mentioned that here. Promotions really are great things. If by "promotion" you take it to mean that I'll now be assisting my current boss, who can be, quite frankly, a bit of a nightmare. In a great way, though. I mean, I like her, but she scares me a little. If by "little," you take it to mean "a lot.")

In any event, most of the day yesterday was more than a little tumultuous. The problem with starting a new position in a company you already work for, is that those training you tend to assume you know a lot more about your new job than you actually do. And the problem with this particular position is that it's far, far away from Hot Intern, though, the upside, as far as I saw it, was that I would be passing The OC's office more than normal.

As I'm walking back and forth yesterday between my new desk and my old one, trying to gain a purchase on my new job while still working my old one, I think to myself "Well, at least I've got THAT going for me. Watch out, OC! Here I come! Several times a day."

The day passes. I see Hot Intern maybe once for a total of about 10 seconds. Then, I just happen to be getting on the elevator to go down to my car about the same time as The OC.

At that point, something a little bizarre happened.

As he's walking to his car, The OC turns to me and says:

OC: So today is my last day.

Me: What?

OC: I'll be working from home from now on.

This does not exactly compute. I half-think he's joking.

Me: Seriously?

OC: Actually, yeah. You and I should...

He kind of starts to mumble and I don't hear exactly what he said, but I take it to mean that he'd like to see me again. He could have actually proposed and I wouldn't have known. I try to remain flirty, though I really have no idea what's going on.

Me: Well, you know where to find me!

We then stumbled through our see-you-later's, and I stalked off to my car trying to put the pieces together. WAS he really serious?

I went back upstairs and did a fly-by of his office.

It was empty. Vacant. His name was still on the door, but all of his stuff was gone.

In timing that couldn't have been more perfect, (she said, rolling her eyes) Hot Intern chooses this moment to stop and talk to me. And look really, really gorgeous. And smell really, really good.

I'm 12 kinds of fucked up about everything.

This really wasn't the way it was supposed to happen.

2004-08-03 5:27 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host