Why You Gotta Keep Axeing Me That? (The Sequel)


Well for some reason, the cosmic shitstorm of my life has once again decided to rain down...shit...onto, well, me.

This asstastic company I work for? Letting me go. For being reliable and consistant and doing exemplary work. No, I'm not kidding.

I was called into the conference room yesterday at about 3:30 by our office manager in that I-want-to-be-here-about-as-much-as-you-do tone of voice that I've gotten quite adept at recognizing as "we like you and you do good work but you're fired."

The getting let go? I'm getting really good at it.

Basically, when I was hired on, I was told that I'd go through a 30 day trial period as a kind of litmus test of compatibility. Well, 30 days came and went and I remained here, getting yelled at for things I didn't do and adjusting to the myriad personalities here, and doing my job well. Now, as I curiously approach the 3 month mark of employment in which I would get health coverage, they are exercising their 30-day trial period shit and ending my employment to try someone ELSE on for thirty days (or, 89 days, or what have you). I was told that it was no reflection on my work or my reliability because that's all been exemplary, but while the big boss man (who we'll call Peve, because his name sounds like that but starts with an ST) who has been out of the office for three weeks on 'family business,' is going through some tough times, they want to have things changed a little bit when he comes back. So, they've bought a new couch for the office and put up a few plants, so when he walks in things will look different. I guess that means a different smiling face at the reception desk, too.

Well fuck you very much, that SUCKS. I'm sorry I'm so good at what I do that you want to find some other poor shmuck to come in here and take your shit quietly and politely so fucking Peve can come back from the Betty Ford and see a change. While I'm bent over here grabbing my ankles can I get you anything? Tie your shoes, lick your boots, trip you, maybe?

Thanks for the "oh you're freelancing!" thing too, so that I can't qualify for unemployment. I hope you don't mind if I panhandle outside your shitty office door. I know it's a pain in the ass, especially if Peve wants to see different faces around here when he gets back from his bender, but I HAVE NO MONEY. And as evidenced by the preceeding seven months of unemployment, I'm not all that great at finding work, either. So mostly, I'm screwed.

I'm upset about this sure-- a little pissed off, a little scared, but mostly, I'm apathetic.

That could just be the shock talking.

Or the hangover. Dr. No, Blue and I went through a couple of bottles of wine last night.

Because the shitstorm continues. And I'm fresh out of umbrellas.

"Looks like it's time to start stealing shit." --Dr. No



2003-10-08 9:31 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host