If Everyone Else Jumped Off The Mackinac Bridge... I Would Too


Because Everyone else is doing it.

1. Your favorite song with the name of a city in the title or text.

Not to continually copy every one else, but I also love "New York, New York" by Ryan Adams. Also a fan of "New York State of Mind" by Billy Joel, "I Love LA" by Randy Newman, and "Detroit Swing City" by Cherry Poppin' Daddies.

2. A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.

"And So It Goes" by Billy Joel. I wonder how many times Billy Joel will make an appearance in this list. Stay tuned, it may be some kind of record.

3. Ever bought an entire album just for one song and winded up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.

Unfortunately enough, I do this quite a bit. I bought the soundtrack to the movie "Nothing To Lose" because it had the song "Ladies Night" on it. Needless to say, I barely even listen to that one. Oh, and the Billy Joel album with "River of Dreams" on it.

4. A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.

Nothing so bad as "Pour Some Shook-up Ramen," but for a really long time, I was singing a certain line to "Like a Virgin" wrong. When I finally figured out what it really said, suddenly it made a LOT more sense. To bring out that Billy Joel connection, I at first thought the song "Scenes from an Italian Restaurant" was about a gay couple, Brendon & Eddie.

5. Your least favorite song on one of your favorite albums of all time.

I absolutely adore Fleetwood Mac's "Rumours" album, but everytime "Songbird" comes on, I want to shoot myself and Christine McVie. And I am officially done with Billy Joel.

6. A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.

I love the song "Pretty Woman" by Roy Orbison and that dude was just scary.

7. Your favorite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.

Oh Liz, if swear words were nickels... I'd be rich by now. I'd have to say that I'm a fan of "Lose Yourself" by Eminem.

8. A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.

I can never, ever tell nationality from singing when they're singing in English. Except Jamaicans.

9. A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.

You know, ever since they aired the final episode of Cheers with that full length version of "Everybody Knows Your Name," I've always wanted a copy of that long version. I don't really know why, even.

10. A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.

"Ireland" by Garth Brooks. Maybe it's all of the times he drops the word "green."

11. A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.

"I'm a Believer" by the Monkees. I know there are other songs out there that I just want to sing at the top of my lungs everytime I hear them (and that, to me, means happy), I just can't think of what they are...

12. Your favorite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.

Uh, I'm hesitant to admit this, but I bought this Andrew Lloyd Webber compilation CD, and I really, really like "Jellicle Ball" from Cats. And there goes all my street cred.

13. A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).

"I Got a Woman" by Ray Charles. The entire content of that song now offends me, but damn if it doesn't have a great beat.

14. A song sung by an overweight person.

"Dream a Little Dream of Me" by Mama Cass. Oh, and "The Weight" by Aretha Franklin. Come to think of it, the titles to both of those songs seem to be actual weight jokes waiting to happen. Which is weird and unintentional.

15. A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise hate.

"You Ain't Much Fun (Since I Quit Drinkin')" by Toby Keith. Ugh, Toby Keith.

16. A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.

Do Jem and the Holograms count?

17. One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.

I grew up listening to music basically non-stop, but I do remember road trips when I was a kid where everyone in the car was singing "30,000 Pounds of Bananas" by Harry Chapin (live version).

18. A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.

"Faded" by Soul Decision. And I STILL don't care!

19. A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.

"Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald" by Clay. Of course, I only discovered it courtesy of evilsuccubus.

20. A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a breakup or otherwise difficult situation.

"Right Through You" by Alanis. Bastard.

21. What was the last song you downloaded?

I haven't downloaded a song in about 4 years, but I did have my mother download the Chicago soundtrack for me. I hope she doesn't get sued.



2004-05-27 3:00 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host