The Fire Down From the Mountain


I remember when I was a kid and Petoskey was still a really small town. We had one movie theater with one screen--an old, art deco building that was built when movies were more magic than commercial, and care was taken in their showing. It was a great building, right downtown, with a high, sculptured ceiling, a mezzanine, balcony and a box office out front. The seats were red velvet, you had to hold your pop between your knees, and the curtain opened as the movie started.

As a kid, I saw all the great movies there. Indiana Jones, Star Wars, ET, The Karate Kid. I remember the feelings those movies evoked, remember running out of the theater after the movie ended, far up the sidewalk ahead of my mom, karate chopping and sword-fighting; like a space commander, like a soldier, like a cowboy.

I loved that feeling. I love it still. A good movie hits you right in the gut, like a shot to the arm or a shot to the soul. The good ones are inspiring and stimulating, making you want to rush right out save the world, find a treasure, run into love. They carry you out of the theater on a riptide of energy.

In Prometheus Unbound, Shelley wrote about Life, Joy, Empire and Victory, inspired by the beauty of Rome. I'm not saying movies and Italy are comparable, but three out of four ain't bad.

Lately, I've had to remind myself of that feeling. I've had to remind myself of the emotions that movies evoke in me. Remember why I moved here and why this is something I want to do. I want to make other people feel joy and victory and life. I want to make little kids run up the sidewalks in front of their mothers and fathers, inspired to do something, to be something. I have to remind myself of that every day.

Prometheus brought fire down from the mountain and gave it to mankind. Me, I get that fire from somewhere else. I just want to make movies.

"You don't throw away a whole life just 'cause he's banged up a little. " --Tom Smith, Seabiscuit



2003-09-22 10:16 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host