Slam Poetry is Cathartic


Something has to break, break through in me To move against the apathy I need a spark of something real So i can write and laugh and feel

I need to care i need to break i need to do i need to take I need that fire i now lack It turned to ash and i want it back Inside is a bubble to hard to poke It was clear and clean now its filled with smoke Break it, pop it, make it burst Give me back my yearning thirst To want, to do, to feel, to see Cause all i've got left here is apathy Depression is sinking, my fingers are worn I've clawed at the edge and i'm a lot a bit torn Get me out of the hole, make the bubble pop Make me light again, make it all stop It's going, it's growing, it's locked with no key Something has got to break through in me

Happiness has wittled down to reluctant sparks Usually now when i feel it hurts I was offered comfort, i took some But nobody likes what i've become And they left me here I don't like it here It's dark with no hope It's filled with apathy and smoke Like someone closed the lid on pandora's box Then secured it tight with a thousand locks Then left me outside with the grey and the smoke If i felt like i was breathing, i'd probably choke

This sucks, i don't like it and you don't like me And that's fine but it's not me talking, you see It's this shit outside, it's this barrier in my head It's this feeling that i used to be alive but i'm dead

It's this shit seeping out, emerging in poems The stuff i wallow in when i'm sitting at home Stuck outside pandora's locked box

2003-06-06 1:49 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host