Space: The Final Frontier


So we finally, FINALLY have our apartment to ourselves. Something we've been waiting forever for has happened.

...And Chip and I are completely weirded out by it. It's really quite bizarre. Not by the living together thing. We've been doing that for the last two months and were basically cohabitating for months before that. That's not what's weird (it's actually just as awesome as we expected).

What's weird is that we suddenly have so much more space. We got so used to tripping over each other and picking our way through the labyrinthine storage "areas" of our apartment, that now that it's cleared out and we've got it to ourselves, it's been freaking us out. We start talking to each other and have no idea if the other person is within hearing distance or not. Chip has accidentally snuck up on me twice, startling the ever-loving shit out of me. At one point last night, Chip came up to me and said "I'm not complaining, and I know we're going to absolutely love it, but this apartment is way too big." I replied, with a sigh, relieved that he felt the same way, that I was also very, very intimidated by our new, giant space. I then also commented that all we really needed was a huge, knock-down blow-out fight and then it would seem really small. Finally.

And then there's the issue of not being able to find anything again, and also not being able to find something that we'd put away to get it out of the way. I honestly wouldn't be surprised to find food in the bar cupboards, or jewelry in the bookcase by the bed.

At first, the novelty of "look at me! I'm putting a blanket away in THE ACTUAL LINEN CLOSET!" (an actual quote) was totally fun. But now we're stuck in this weird "where the fuck is the fucking blanket? why is it not shoved haphazardly onto my computer chair? fuck!" limbo. I have no idea where anything is. Half of my clothes are in the new closet in our bedroom, half are in the guest room dresser.

And absolutely EVERYTHING is dusty/gross/needing to be vacuumed/wiped down. I don't know if I've ever gone into depth explaining my need to clean my space (that's a Type-A Shoved In A Type B's Body entry for another day), but suddenly having all of this space to clean is overwhelming. Where do I START? Where do WE start? We have so much that needs to be put away/relocated, that we both just kind of want to lie down. I think tonight we'll probably just walk in, start drinking, watch LOST, and ignore ALL OF IT.

2006-05-24 12:17 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host