I Had No Idea My Boyfriend Went to Space Camp


I really didn't. I mean, we've been together nigh on a year and a half (and when I say "together," I mean if we weren't at work, we were probably either holding hands or within a 20 foot radius of each other) and I know more about him than anyone outside of his parents and I even I didn't know Chip had gone to Space Camp. I mean, that's a lot of togetherness, and how did I not know? That's pertinent info right there. That's stuff you share. I mean, that's supposed to come out. Like, maybe during this conversation:

Slip: So, Dr. No and I once were almost on Candid Camera, but ran out of the store when the cameras came out and fake Tom Jones emerged from the back with the giant check.
Chip: Wow. That's cool. I went to Space Camp.

Or really, EVER, especially in conjunction with discussions wherein the following people come up:

Lea Thompson
Terry O'Quinn
Tom Skerritt
Kate Capshaw
Joaquin Phoenix
Kelly Preston
Tate Donovan

Instead, it came up while we were sitting in the airport in Traverse City, Michigan, waiting to board the Most Delicious Wonderfully Comfortable Flight Ever (see also: First Class, Slip's First). I don't know what got us on the subject but we were discussing the pros and cons of Zero G and how exactly you'd write that if you were writing a script about, say, Mars, and I reminded him that my sister, Space Cadet had been up in the Vomit Comet several times and could probably answer any Zero G question we had first hand. At which point he pointed out that he hadn't gotten to do any Zero G simulation training at Space Camp, so yeah, that was a good idea.

This is the conversation that followed:

Slip: Wait. Hold on. You went to Space Camp?
Chip: Yeah.
Slip: And you never told me?
Chip: I guess not.
Slip: That is pertinent info, Chip. How did I not know that?
Chip: ... Am I supposed to answer that?
Slip: Not really, no. ... So... Was it like the movie?
Chip: If you're asking if we accidentally got launched into Outer Space, then... no.
Slip: So which one were you?
Chip: Huh?
Slip: Were you the guy who entered just to meet chicks, or the aspiring astronaut, or the chick with the eidetic memory, or... that robot...?
Chip: You're funny.
Slip: Babe, you went to Space Camp. I got a million of 'em.
Chip: I can't imagine WHY I never told you.
Slip: I wanna know more about Space Camp! Tell me about Space Camp!
Chip: Are you gonna make fun of me anymore?
Slip: Absolutely not.
Chip: Okay, then. It was cool. You got to train at every position and then eventually you were assigned a certain one and you had to train for the simulation launch.
Slip: ...Is Kate Capshaw as hot in person?
Chip: ...

Don't worry, we only broke up for like FIVE minutes after that, everything's totally fine now.

But seriously Chip, if I ever find out you fell into a ravine when you were a kid and lost 14 years but didn't age and then got held at NASA and Sarah Jessica Parker smuggled you out in a robot, we're going to break up for a long longer than five minutes. Compliance?

Hee...


2006-08-15 10:26 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host