Various Thoughts On The Spartans


So, Chip and I went to see The 300 this weekend, along with apparently $70 million worth of other people. And... well, I guess I have to say that I liked it. I mean, I didn't hate it, and it wasn't my normal cuppa (not a big graphic novel fan, I guess). But... it sure was a pretty movie.

Initially when we were walking out of the theater, Chip asked "so, what'd you think?" To which I replied "that was a whole lotta beefcake." Which it totally was.

I have to say, girls? Go see this movie with your boyfriends. They're dying to go, and though there is a lot of carnage in it and some slightly extraneous boobies, there is also a whole lotta beefcake. Everyone will enjoy themselves.

While on the subject of The Spartans, let's talk about The Spartans of Michigan State. My boys made it to the Dance again! For the tenth year in a row. I'm so proud of them. This is a team that lost their three best players to the NBA draft last year, and they still managed to have a winning season, and even beat the #1 ranked team in the country when they came to East Lansing to pick a fight.

They probably won't be the Cinderella story this year--but if they do indeed dispatch Marquette in the first game as many think they will, their next game against UNC probably won't be terribly unlike the 300 Spartans of yore taking on the eleventy million strong army of Persia. And they held their own pretty well.

For next year's recruiting class, I guess we should just hope for, after talent and court smarts, one thing: more beefcake!

It seems to help.

2007-03-14 9:12 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host