The Stare Master


I can�t tell you how many times I�ve read a phrase that said something like �he looked at me as if I was the only person on earth.� I�ve never really bought into it. I mean, aside from bums on the bus or little kids with no manners who just stare at you over the back of a restaurant booth, I�ve never experienced that look or anything like it.

Until today.

I know everyone must be getting a little bit sick of my pining on this website over one boy or another--whether it be Hot Intern or Orange Crush or the previously unmentioned Rocket Scientist (who we�ll get to eventually, assuming I can stop talking about the newest object of my affection). But today, my friends, I looked into the eyes of the Stare Master. You�ll have to prepare yourself for a bit more pining, because I�m having a hard time remembering what those other boys even look like. (Except for maybe the Rocket Scientist, who looks incredibly like Kerr Smith with a little bit of Zach Braff thrown in for good measure.)

Sweet merciful Zeus.

In the tenure of my time at Reputable Company, never have I witnessed the interest shown at the identity of the Stare Master. Almost every female coworker (and a few of the males) have paused in the wake of SM, staring after him and turning to whomever was standing closest with the phrase �who is that?� dropping from their mouth and onto the shoes of that unfortunate close soul. Our (married) facilities manager almost fainted.

After a quick reintroduction in the lobby this morning, I decided that I would be personally delivering the latest batch of access cards to the newest new hires. (Usually, I just hand them over to HR and let them do it.) We had actually met over two weeks before, as my good friend and receptionist Caramel always calls me and �needs� something whenever there�s a hot guy in the lobby. (Love her.) In any event, that meeting was from across the room and just before his initial interview. I hadn�t talked to him much then and wanted to leave him alone, figuring he�d already be nervous and fidgety without having to meet a ton of people before he even had the job. But again I say, sweet merciful Zeus. This morning when Caramel said �Stare Master, you remember Slippin� Mickeys�� and he turned to me and said �Of course,� you could have knocked me over with a feather. He has a way of looking at you as if are, honest to God, the only other person on the face of the earth. For that moment in the lobby, everything in the periphery melted away from his two eyes. And for once, I wasn�t intimidated�I didn�t want to look away. But back to the access cards.

Before I could assign the Stare Master a card, I needed his paperwork. Unlike all of the other new hires, HR hadn�t given me his forms. I decided to go to his cube myself. I walked in, and I�m telling you, this guy looks at you. Really looks at you. I seriously cannot get over it. He has this intensity about him that�s a complete turn-on. It�s not creepy or unnerving. It�s sexy. As hell.

Later in the day when I dropped off his access and parking cards, I took the time to explain precisely how the parking system worked, answered all of his questions, and told him to come to me if he had any questions or problems with access�all without looking away or blinking.

This may not seem odd to some people, but I�m a look-away-er. Always have been. Maybe it�s the ADD, but I have a tendency to loose my concentration when I�m maintaining constant eye contact with someone, so when I�m relaying information or telling a story, I usually look away.

I�m intrigued by him. I�m intrigued by his intensity, his kindness. I�m intrigued by his eyes.

I know I�ve been complaining about not working out lately and my lack of motivation to exercise. Maybe it�s time I jumped on the Stare Master.



2004-09-21 9:30 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host