Thank You For The Music


Dr. No holla-ed, and I�m sending a holla back. As I�ve been completely obsessed with my iPod lately, this was really a perfect time to grab that stick and run with it.

1. What is the Total Amount of Music Files on Your Computer?

Well, now. That�s interesting, isn�t it? You see, my laptop at home (which is currently infected with this weird virus that makes it shut down constantly) is kind of archaic�in these days of forever-improving technology, anyway. Hooking up my aforementioned and beloved iPod to it, quite frankly, scares the crap out of me. I don�t trust it as far as I could throw it. (Although it IS kind of light, and I HAVE been working out, so I could probably get some distance, there.) There�s also the little hiccup of it not being equipped (no high-speed USB port) to actually handle an iPod. Short story long, I�ve been kind of� uploading all of my music on my work computer. �Where I presently have 2097 songs cached. I know. I know.

2. The Last CD You Bought Is?

Lucky Boys Confusion�s Commitment, which effing rules. Not, however, that I�d let my friend Fucking Linas know. I got into Lucky Boys because Linas is CONSTANTLY playing their CD�to the point where if I heard any of the songs on it I would automatically want to lay down and nap. So, every time he played it, I complained. Loudly. And a lot. But to quote The Cutting Edge�s Douglas Dorsey, �somewhere in the middle of all of this, I fell in love�� I have now reached the level of obsession with this CD that Fucking Linas has. Not that he will ever, EVER get the satisfaction of knowing as much.

3. What is the Song You Last Listened to Before This Message?

Battle Flag by Lo Fidelity All Stars. The first time you hear the opening strains of it, you�re all Monks? Is that� Is this� Holy crap, did Enigma come out with a new song? And then it kicks in and starts dropping the F bomb and all you want to do is turn that shit up, baby, turn that shit up! Needless to say, I�ve been on a Battle Flag kick lately.

4. Write Down Five Songs You Often Listen To, or That Mean a Lot to You.

Now that is a seriously loaded � well now, #4 isn�t exactly a question, but it is loaded. I�m going to have to start with Best Black Dress by the Nields, because it was on the first mix tape that the Queen made for me. It�s all girl-rock-lilting-frankness and I absolutely love it. It will always remind me of my best, favorite days of college�independence and na�vet� and all the good shit that you don�t recognize until its gone. Copperline by James Taylor comes next. It�s a song that captures the ethereal feeling of home. Whenever I�m feeling nostalgic for the good old days with my family or feeling an acute homesickness for northern Michigan, I listen to it and it brings me a little bit of peace. Next up, Temporary One by Fleetwood Mac. Suffice it to say you all saw a Mac attack coming, no doubt� When I was a kid, every time my family went on a road trip, the only tape my entire family could agree on listening to was Harry Chapin�s Greatest Stories Live. The only time my sister and I would stop fighting (over the top of my poor step-sister who always had to ride bitch and sit in between us) was when 30,000 Pounds of Bananas came on. Everyone in the car sang along and we, as kids, would shout �IT SUCKS!� right along with Harry and his brothers�probably the only time we were allowed to use that particular phraseology without getting in trouble. And last but not least is The Boston Pops version of Itsbynne Reel. It awakens the Celt in me.

5. Who Are You Gonna Pass This Stick To (Three Persons and Why)?

I most definitely have to pass it to evilsuccubus. She�s made some of the most badass mixes, ever. I also figure she could use a good distraction right now (hang in, evil!). I�d love to see what The Queen does with it this time round (I think she�s gotten it before?) because she�s always feeling The Music hardcore. And Dr. Phungus� bring it.


2005-01-30 11:30 a.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host