Merry Christmas!/Your Gift is Hit or Miss/It's a Poem


I feel I must apologize to my friends and family this year. I sent out an email today asking for everyone's Christmas Lists. What I didn't tell them is that pretty much no matter what is on their list, they will probably just unwrap a picture of what they wanted with a note that says "maybe next year."

Suffice it to say: I am broke.

As of now, November 5th, I have been employed for roughly eighty-five days of 2003. And currently? Not even getting unemployment.

So, as we approach the holiday shopping season, I look on it with...no small amount of apprehension.

I'm trying to think of creative gift ideas, but I'm running out. In 2001, every member of my family got a small, inexpensive gift, and a poem that I wrote myself. As I'm still catching shit from my brother-in-law for this, I'm going to have to change strategy.

I'm thinking maybe a cool homemade Christmas card with a lotto ticket inside? I mean, a cheap gift, but with the potential to be the best present ever.

My hairdresser suggested learning how to make soap or candles and giving those as gifts. Which is a great idea, seeing as how I certainly have the time to make either one, but I'm not sure if I have the resources.

Maybe I could learn magic and give each person a trick.

Or course, my mother has informed me that all she wants for Christmas is for me to get a job.

Sadly for me, it seems my apptitude for job aquirement is exceeded quite handily by my apptitude for poem-writing, or juggling, or possibly even candle-making. I haven't tried that one yet.

"Read my lips: save the warnings for someone who's not broke!" -- Emery, Rose Red

2003-11-05 4:49 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host