Match in the Gas Tank


A psychiatrist who studied astronaut and cosmonaut crews said that after a few months of tight confinement, irritability tends to set in. Leadership erodes, cliques develop, and everyone gets mad at Mission Control.

I know the feeling.

I�m not sure what�s causing me to feel like a claustrophobe in my own life, but I�m getting restless and I�m getting irritable. I think it�s a combination of mundane routine, my own tendencies toward disquietude, and a complete lack of financial freedom to do anything other than nothing.

I get up, I go to work, I come home, watch TV or read a book, and then I do it all over again. Occasionally, I muster up enough blas� distain for the state of my checkbook (or a complete state of denial), and go out anyway. Of course, this never ends well, as eventually, either my conscience or debt collectors catch up to me.

And so I now find myself wrapped up in this dispassionate cycle of everyday life that leaves me depressed and bored beyond the telling of it.

Every now and then (with a frequency that�s disturbing), it�ll all catch up to me and I�ll snap. Occasionally at someone in my own little m�nage, and usually when they don�t really deserve it. I�m turning moody and sulky, and I don�t like it.

I know there are few people out there that live lives of constant intrigue and excitement, and those that do probably wish for the mundane. But I feel literally saturated with ennui, and I can�t take much more.

I�m beginning to forget what a halcyon life is like.



2004-01-27 9:36 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host