Update Shmupdate


Gah, I've been so busy these last few days, and it still seems as though I have nothing to add here. Which is weird. I have plenty of fun stories but nothing that's screaming to be journaled.

A few things worth mentioning though:

I was "sick" on Friday. So fevered and sick was I, that I went to bed Thursday night, and low and behold, woke up in Sequoia National Park on Friday. Can you imagine? It was the weirdest thing. So, I just decided to camp and hike the rest of the weekend with some friends. Prunes's birthday is this Thursday, so we did some celebratory outdoorsy stuff. Sequoia is absolutely magnificent--everything I expected and more. Of course, it was, as we oft referred to it in Michigan, butt-fucking cold I mean, you grow up in northern Michigan, and you can take some pretty extreme temperatures. There's 50 degrees (F), which we Michigander's call "Balmy." 40 is "Fresh," 30 is "Brisk," 20 is "Chilly," and on into the teens, 0 and below. And then my friends, is "Butt-Fucking Cold." And Friday night? BFC. Buko de BFC. I woke up in the middle of the night (in my down mummy-bag) and honestly thought I was going to slip into hypothermic shock and die. At around 2am, I slipped out of my sleeping bag long enough to put on every single article of clothing that I had brought with me (which included three fleece's, one heavy hooded sweatshirt, one fleece hat, a pair of fleece gloves, a pair of flannel pajama pants, a pair of track pants, a pair of jeans, and two pairs of wool socks. I then channeled Joey for a second and did the "Could I be wearing any more clothes?" thing at which point I laughed at myself, and then descended back into shivering and wishing I would just freeze to death already. In any event, I did survive, and three days later, I got home, showered for the first time in four days (which was the most amazing, magnificent, brilliant thing ever) and here I am back at work.

What else? Oh yeah, some guy called here at work earlier today, and said that he had some tickets for a coworker of mine (yes, he did give me a valid name) that she couldn't use and then asked if maybe I wanted them. Used to getting free tickets on a fairly regular basis here at Reputable Company, I said sure! Well, he comes and it turns out he wants me to give him a hundred freaking dollars for the tickets. Whatever, pal, not only do I not care about Dido enough to actually pay for tickets, screw you anyway! And then, he had the gall to get pissed off at me for refusing them.

Tool.

That's pretty much all I've got. Maybe I'll have an update soon that's not rife with cold temperatures, tools and unwashed me.

"Could I be wearing any more clothes?" -- Joey, Friends

2004-05-25 3:50 p.m.

prev // next

index
archives
Dr. No
Dancing Brave
evilsuccubus
Fade In
Firedancer
Geek Chic
Mister Zero
Ms. MacBeth
oneloudbitch
Ruby Tramp
Queen of a Lost Art
UltraTart
Knee Deep in the Hoopla
email
guestbook
brushes : 1 2 3
design
host